HUST has 42 academic schools and departments covering 12 comprehensive disciplines which are Science, Engineering, Medicine, Economics, Management, Philosophy, Law, Education, Literature, History, Agriculture and Art.

At present, HUST offerS 95 undergradsate programs, 224 master programs, 183 PhD programs, out of which 5 bachelor’s programs, 81 master’s programs and 87 doctoral programs could be instructed in English.